How I Put Together Octobers Windows

To incorporate all of the materials I included in the October sampler was not hard at all. I loved creating the pieces for this months windows. I love my job!

First I visited our local creative reuse center, SCRAP, and picked out 20 of the largest frames they had on hand. The gal at the counter gave me a deal on them! For $75.00, each frame came out to be $3.75! I have never seen a deal like that before! They were all different colors and different sizes, so to unify them, I sanded them down, and spray painted them with a high gloss white paint.

Tip: To keep your pointer finger from hurting, invest in a spray paint can handle. It kept my fingers feeling great, because I could use my entire hand to spray, rather than one finger!

Next I visited our local Joann’s, to find black lace by the bolt. Luckily, they were having a sale! 50% off all lace! Again, we got a steal on the fabric, about 19 yards for only $113.

After all the newly white frames had dried, I took the lace fabric and attached pieces to the back of the frames with a simple glue gun. I took a small plastic squeegee to push the lace into the crevis of the frame edge after I squeezed the glue on. I neatly trimmed the lace to create a clean-cut line.

We added another layer of texture with black satin ribbon. I searched online for 2″ satin ribbon and found a website that sold bulk ribbon. We got one 50 yard roll of double-faced black satin ribbon in 2.5″ for only $20! That is definitely a steal and works great with my $100 per window budget! We hung the white frames with this black ribbon, and it looks great!

Beneath each mannequin, I wanted a stage to display all the super cute heels that go in the window displays. So I created an enlarged damask form, added a simple yet elegant border, and cut out quarter circles that mimicked the border. Wallah! A striking, strongly contrasted graphic that works perfectly for the theme of the display! And at $20 each, that adds a great element to windows, but doesn’t break the budget.

All of this came to a grand total of just under $100 per store! I set up a mock display in our workshop to preview what the displays would look like without the mannequins:

And here is what the real displays came out looking like:

October windows were so fun to do!

About breabumanlag

Founder of Jasper & Peg, a California based clothing line inspired by beautiful, amazing women around the world. My mission is to make people feel loved and beautiful through everyday wearable basics!
This entry was posted in Window Displays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

